New Discussion: Who are these people? Strategies for creating LinkedIn contacts (and Facebook friends)!


Who Are These People 01
Over the past eight years, I have built up my LinkedIn contacts to 900 people. Not extraordinary compared to many. Also, I have nearly 300 “friends” on Facebook. A measly number compared to some.

How many of us have received a LinkedIn or Facebook message  and had no clue who this person is or why they wanted to connect.

During the Chicago Blizzard of 2011, I took a close and hard look at my many “friends” and contacts. In many cases I asked, “Who is this person?” Or to paraphrase Dean Martin from his Rat Pack days, “How did these people get in my room?”

The best advice I have heard is, “LinkedIn is for my business contacts, and Facebook is private and strictly for my friends.” The other question I ask, “Do I want this person to know what I’m up to?”

Last week two friends, Tracey and Ray Samlow, opened a new restaurant Currents On-the-River. To help with the grand opening, I thought it would be nice to invite my Facebook “friends.” As I went through my friends list, I said to myself, “Self! Do you want to see this person?” I answered no to almost half of the people on the list.

Two simple or simplistic strategies to adding Facebook “friends”

1. My Facebook page is strictly for friends. It is not a competition. I want my close friends to know what I ‘m doing, and no one else.

2. My business is B2C (marketing to consumers). I need all the “friends” I can get.

Four simple or simplistic strategies to adding contacts on LinkedIn

1.   Clients and prospects. This is used to provide relevant business information strictly to people I am
doing business, or people who I hope will become clients.

2.   Key contacts and friends. Same strategy as “Clients and Prospects” but more open.

3.   Data Base. This includes clients, prospects, key contacts, friends and others who I find professionally interesting, and want to stay in contact by providing interesting, relevant information.

4.   Open Networker. If you have something to promote to consumers, or if social networking is key component of your business (either client or self promotion), you want as many contacts as you can get.

Spencer Maus
SpencerConnect
smaus@spencer-connect.com
About Nate Marks

We live and work in a world of visual images.
This entry was posted in Branding, Business, Design, Marketing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

