New Discussion: Does Text Marketing Bother You?

Texting

In this era of mass communication we are surrounded – and bombarded – with marketing and advertising messages, especially in urban areas. These messages reach us via radio, TV, outdoor advertising, direct mail, Facebook, Twitter, magazines, newspapers, etc., and on a 24/7 basis – if we let them. I have no problem with good marketing and advertising – that’s how we learn about so many of the things that we need and desire — by the process of well-directed marketing and advertising. The problem isn’t the concept, it is the amount of material that we are asked to take in, and then to filter through, to find what is of interests to us – as the individual target.

Lately, I’ve been receiving a lot of text messages trying to sell me on investing, buying a home or automobile, gambling on line, introducing me to bank and phone products, to restaurants, presenting coupons, and vacation packages. All of these text messages miss one simple point: they are not interesting enough for me to waste my time chasing them down. Secondly, most of them come from sources that I have never heard of, so they don’t illicit trust (one of the main principles of good advertising). Plus that, they are really invasive – coming during the night, and in the early morning hours.

Am I the only one bothered by this, or does text marketing bother you too?

About Nate Marks

We live and work in a world of visual images.
This entry was posted in Branding, Business, Design, Marketing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to New Discussion: Does Text Marketing Bother You?

  1. Mike Willett says:

    What an interesting question. Of course the onslaught of mundane, boring, insulting, loud, interupting
    messages from people that do it in the middle of the night, anger me, and by the way, check your
    messaging package, it may actually be costing you money as well.

    Text messaging has, or should I say, had, a value that is rapidly disappearing, since using it for ads will
    train people to ignore it. I always found texting a great tool if, and only if, it was the only way I
    could get an important message somewhere. There also was a day that it got attention, almost
    immediately, since people only used it for something important.

    There is another reason I find it distasteful. I see far too many people doing it while driving. I know,
    I know, you have a perfect right to do so, but when you kill me, me thinks you are encroaching on
    my freedoms, such as the one I always thought was beyond doubt, the right to live.

    Advertisers, this is for you. You are ruining advancements in communications by entering our spaces
    at all times of day and night, insulting us with absolute junk, and above all, a big, fat, large sign saying
    just how you don’t care and don’t have any taste either. I will go out of my way not to do business
    with you, get it?

    So now, you ask, what is the alternative? I mentioned taste, and I know that is a foreign word to
    many in our indjustry, but damn it, exercise some. While writing this, my phone rang, and at the other
    end was an auto dialer. I wait for them just to give them a hard time, though it does no good. “Take me
    off your list” no longer means anything, since our do nothing government has abandoned the
    process and advertisers using this method just laugh at you, so I waste a bit of their time. This call
    was to inform me that they were going to give me money and a credit card, etc., etc., etc. When they
    answer, I use my standard reply. “You used an auto dialer, didn’t you? Shame on you, I’ll have to
    charge you a handsome sum for wasting my time. Please remove me from your list.” It never is done, of course
    and they will no doubt call me again in a few days, but it cost them time and money, and since I’m
    semi retired, it cost them more than it did me.

    Please, advertisers and designers and copy writers, if you are employing these methods, stop it
    right now, or give up all semblance of sanity and caring instantly!

  2. Spencer Maus says:

    You have hit a hot button. Text messages selling stuff are a quick delete. Good article, loved the video.

Leave a Reply

